Initial Timing 289 eng. - Vintage Mustang Forums
 5Likes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

Initial Timing 289 eng.

So ive been doing a lot of research and watching a ton of videos and i believe i finally comprehended everything and how to do the initial timing of my v8 289 engine.
However i took out all of the spark plugs to release compression and i took the fan off the engine to be able to get my hands in front of the radiator easier. The problem im having is how do i turn the engine to get the number 1 cylinder to TDC because seems im way took weak to get the engine to turn. Thank you for all the help i truly love this forum. BTW im not an expert with engine components so dumbing it down would be perfect thanks again!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 07:13 PM Thread Starter

Also if need be i can take a picture tomorrow and post it so you guys/girls have a visual of what im working with.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 07:43 PM

If you've got the room, use as long of a cheater bar as you need to turn the engine. It sounds like you've made a bit of room so slide a piece of pipe over your ratchet or breaker bar to get leverage.

Early 65
1998 5.0, fitech efi, holley in tank returnless pump
4R70W transmission with USShift quick 2 controller
3.00:1 8" open rear end

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 08:06 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by New2me View Post
If you've got the room, use as long of a cheater bar as you need to turn the engine. It sounds like you've made a bit of room so slide a piece of pipe over your ratchet or breaker bar to get leverage.
Ok i will try that tomorrow then. Ill just need to buy the socket size for that bolt. I just didnt do it today because i feel like ive seen so many others be able to do it by hand with ease. But ill let you know how that goes tomorrow
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 08:48 PM

Garage